On foot in Odessa: the ancient architecture of the city - what to see
Лютеранская Церковь Святого Павла

Ancient architecture of Odessa

Share

Everyone who has visited Odessa will agree that she has a special charm. The paved streets, the ancient courtyards and many architectural monuments – all this is a Pearl’s calling card from the sea. The plan of Odessa in 1794 provided geometrically correct, regular building of streets. The architects known at the time known as Franz Frapolli, Alexander Bernardazzi, Franz Boffo and many others built an uncomplicated city.

The contribution of architect Boffo to the construction of Odessa.
Franz Karlovich lived and worked in Odessa for 40 years. During this time he designed and built many buildings in the central part of the city, which soon became his business cards. Strolling along Primorsky Boulevard, you can enjoy its creations. This is the building of the City Hall, the Palace of Seamen and the House of Potocki, as well as the famous Potemkin Staircase. Did you know that the staircase at various times had names: Giant, Bulvarna, Urban and Rishelyevskaya?

To date, more than 30 buildings have been preserved, built by architects, and most of them without significant changes in appearance. Our hotel is directly connected with the activities of the architect. Indeed, it is FK Boffo designed a shopping mall building in which Bortoli Hotel is located.

Одесский архив

Odessa Archives

Odessa Archives or Synagogue?

An interesting monument of architecture is the Odessa Archives on Zhukovsky Street, 18. It was once the building of the Brodsky Synagogue (under the name of the city of Brody in Galicia), where the services were conducted in conjunction with the organ. But after the Second World War, the building handed over the archive. You can easily admire the old façade and even visit it, it’s free. To study the old documents you need a desire and a passport: the visitor is recorded in the reading room, he fills in the questionnaire and receives a work permit. And though it seems gloomy, it’s an excellent example of an ancient Gothic architecture with its arched windows.

Здание Пассажа

“Passage”

Passage on Deribasovskaya

At the corner of Preobrazhenskaya and Deribasovskaya streets, the building of the shopping complex “Passage” and the hotel with the same name are tall. Previously, on the site of this institution were residential houses that were subsequently demolished, and the new building was built in just 2 years. Already in 1900 a shopping center “Passage in Odessa” was opened. According to the scale of the design and the number of sculptures, he has no equal in Odessa. He is competing in decorative even with the Opera House. Entering the trade pavilion, lift your head and examine the smallest details of the stucco and the glass ceiling. For more than a hundred years the building has ceased to amaze guests of the city with its luxury.

Lutheran Church of St. Paul

Renaissance from ashes

In 1824, the foundations of the Lutheran Church of St. Paul or Kirkha were laid. She stood safely until the end of the nineteenth century, later decided that Kirkha was slightly depleted and required repairs. The old building was dismantled, and very soon a new Gothic style appeared on the same place. The church was well preserved until the fire in 1976. A great contribution to the restoration of the temple was made by the community in Bavaria and in 2010 the restoration was completed. The facade was made in the spirit of the Middle Ages, and the interior became modern. The Church of St. Paul is located in the city center on Novoselsky Street, 68. There is also an organ that was brought to Odessa from Germany. And everyone can come to listen to his sound. Under no circumstances do not forget to pay attention to the wonderful evening lighting of Kirkha.

Leave a Reply

3D тур

Пешком по Одессе: старинная архитектура

Share

Все, кто побывал в Одессе, согласятся, что у нее есть особое очарование. Мощеные улочки, старинные дворики и множество памятников архитектуры — все это является визитной карточкой Жемчужины у моря. План Одессы 1794 года предусматривал геометрически правильную, регулярную застройку улиц. Неспроста город строили известные в то время архитекторы: Франц Фраполли, Александр Бернардацци, Франц Боффо и многие другие.

Вклад архитектора Боффо в строительство Одессы.
Франц Карлович жил и работал в Одессе 40 лет. За это время он спроектировал и построил множество зданий в центральной части города, которые вскоре стали его визитными карточками. Прогуливаясь по Приморскому бульвару, вы можете насладиться его творениями. Это здание городской мэрии, Дворец моряков и Дом Потоцких, а также знаменитая Потемкинская лестница. А вы знали, что лестница в разное время носила названия: Гигантской, Бульварной, Городской и Ришельевской?

До наших дней сохранилось более 30 зданий, построенных зодчим, причем большая часть из них без существенного изменения облика. Наш отель напрямую связан с деятельностью архитектора. Ведь именно Ф.К. Боффо спроектировал здание торговых  рядов, в котором и расположился отель Bortoli.

Одесский архив

Одесский архив

Одесский архив или синагога?

Интересным памятником архитектуры является Одесский архив на улице Жуковского, 18. Когда-то это было здание Бродской синагоги (по имени города Броды на Галичине), где богослужения проводились в сопровождении органа. Но после Второй мировой войны здание передали архиву. Вы запросто можете полюбоваться старинным фасадом и даже посетить его, это бесплатно. Чтобы исследовать старинные документы нужно желание и паспорт: посетителя записывают в читальный зал, он заполняет анкету и получает разрешение на работу. И хоть с виду оно кажется мрачным — это отличный пример старинной готической архитектуры с ее арочными окнами.

Здание Пассажа

Здание Пассажа

Пассаж на Дерибасовской

На углу улиц Преображенской и Дерибасовской возвышается здание торгового комплекса «Пассаж» и одноименной с ним гостиницы. Ранее на месте этого заведения были жилые дома, которые были впоследствии снесены, а новое здание было построено всего за 2 года. Уже в 1900 году был открыт торговый комплекс «Пассаж в Одессе». По размаху оформления и количеству скульптур ему нет равных в Одессе. Он конкурирует в декоративности даже с Оперным театром. Войдя в торговый павильон, поднимите голову и рассмотрите мельчайшие детали лепнины и стеклянный потолок. Более ста лет здание не перестает удивлять одесситов и гостей города своей роскошью

Лютеранская Церковь Святого Павла

Возрождение из пепла

В 1824 году  заложили фундамент Лютеранской Церкви Святого Павла или Кирхи. Она благополучно простояла до конца XIX века, позже решили, что Кирха слегка обветшала и требует ремонта. Старое здание разобрали, и на том же месте очень скоро появилось новое в готическом стиле. Церковь неплохо сохранилась вплоть до пожара в 1976 году. Большой вклад в восстановление храма была выделена общиной в Баварии и в 2010 году реставрация была закончена. Фасад выполнен в духе средневековья, а интерьер стал современным. Церковь Святого Павла находится в центре города на улице Новосельского, 68. Также там есть орган, который привезли в Одессу из Германии. И каждый желающий может прийти, чтобы послушать его звучание. Ни в коем случае не забудьте обратить внимание на чудесное вечернее освещение Кирхи.

Добавить комментарий